top of page
Search
reashilescobar123

Carmen, Davao Del Norte: The Developing City of the North

Updated: Nov 23, 2021


Carmen, Davao Del Norte is actually my second home. My father was raised there and they have their family business and home there. I usually go there atleast once a year to visit my dad and my relatives. What I love about Carmen is that they have the best and cheapest balut in town. As cheap as 11-15 pesos, I can buy my favorite 18 days balut with spicy vinegar. It is not a fully-developed city yet but for sure for the next few years, it will be fully established. Carmen is such a peaceful place with so many generous people.


HOW TO GET THERE?

There are 4-ways to get there. You can ride a bus, van, jeepney or taxi. But I would suggest to take the bus, much safer and more convenient. Davao Metro Shuttle operates a bus from Davao City to Carmen every 20 minutes. Tickets cost ₱70 - ₱100 and the journey takes 48 min.


SAFETY TIPS & PROTOCOLS:

a. Lock Up Your Valuables

b. Ask Locals For Advice

c. Don’t Share Too Much With Strangers

d. Do not bring so much money

e. Stay aware of your surroundings

f. Ask your hotel manager for advice on 'safe' versus 'unsafe' local areas.

g. Keep a photocopy of your passport and all other important documents in a safe place

h. Don't wear flashy jewelry

i. Don't share taxis with strangers.

j. Always lock your hotel door when retiring for the night.

k. Even if you're not sure where you're going, walk like you've got a purpose


If you want to travel in this time of pandemic, make sure to:

a. Wear your mask all the time.

2 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page